The Tweed Regional Museum is a Tweed Shire Council community facility, established in 2004, with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between Tweed Shire Council and the Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads and Uki and South Arm Historical Societies.
It is one museum that operates across three branch locations; Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads and Uki, and in association with these three local Historical Societies. The three locations connect the Tweed Shire from the coast to the mountains, providing a unique journey into the history, people and places of the majestic Tweed Valley.
In August 2015, the Tweed Regional Museum (TRM) Murwillumbah re-opened after major redevelopment. The award winning multi-million dollar upgrade, which has been in progress since late 2011, treasures the old and embraces the new. The historic 1915 building has been restored to its former glory and now flows into a spacious and modern exhibition area, with vibrant displays bringing Tweed's history to life through stories of our past.
Museum Office and Contact Details
Tweed Shire Council
PO Box 816
Murwillumbah NSW 2484
(02) 6670 2493 (Fax: 02 6672 4770)
The Murwillumbah branch is located in the original Tweed Shire Council Chambers of 1915, with a contemporary extension that opened in August 2015. Permanent displays provide a glimpse into past settlement and development; changing displays showcase the Tweed Regional Museum collection and contemporary stories about places, events and people significant to the Tweed community.
Tweed Heads Branch
The Tweed Heads branch consists of historic buildings that have been relocated to a tranquil riverside park setting.
The smallest branch of the Museum is in the picturesque village of Uki, nestled at the base of Wollumbin - Mt Warning. This branch is a local heritage resource centre housing a small collection of historic objects and photographs about life over the years in the remote upper reaches of the Valley.
Museum Collection Store
Completed in 2012, the Tweed Regional Museum collection store provides secure, purpose-designed, flood-free storage for items in the museum collection, to better protect these pieces and allow greater flexibility with displays at museum branches.
The collection store incorporates a 'pod' that provides the ideal environment for particularly sensitive items such as textiles, paper based and organic collection objects.
See our Exhibitions and Events page for details of how you can take a behind-the-scenes tour of our Collection Store.
Museum Director: Judy Kean
Curator Collections and Programs: Erika Taylor
Collection and Program Support Officer: Kirsty Andrew
Program Support Officer (Saturdays): Jennifer Hewitson
Policies and Plans
The Tweed Regional Museum Strategic Plan 2014-17 was adopted by Tweed Shire Council at its meeting on 12 December 2013. This Plan will guide future development of the Museum and its programs.
Tweed Regional Museum Strategic Plan (452kB PDF)
The Collection of Tweed Regional Museum was created in 2004 by an amalgamation and transfer of ownership to Council of the collections of the historical societies of Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads and Uki and South Arm.
Each separate collection evolved over time and a range of factors lead to the shaping of the collections as they are today. Over many decades, museum volunteers in the Tweed Shire have built an outstanding cultural resource about the people, places and history of the area. This includes significant object and photograph collections as well as archives, research files and oral histories.
The Collections Policy aims to enhance strategically the depth and importance of the Collection by approaching collecting in a manner that reflects the Tweed Region as a whole, single entity.
The Collection Policy of Tweed Regional Museum will have a primary focus on collecting for exhibitions, educational purposes, research and archiving.
Collection Policy - Tweed Regional Museum (84kB PDF)